DUI DWI Suffolk County
It’s frightening to face any type of charges, and when it comes to DUI or DWI in Suffolk County, New York, it’s even scarier. The chances of going to jail depend on your ability to find the right Suffolk County DUI lawyer, as well as understanding who you’ll meet during the process. The basics of moving through this situation include finding a great criminal defense lawyer in Suffolk County, but the process involves much more than your defense for a DWI Suffolk County.
1. The People
The first person you’ll encounter in this experience is the arresting police officer. This will be either a Suffolk County officer, or a New York State officer. You will then ask for a lawyer, where you will meet your traffic violations lawyer, Matthew Tuohy, Esquire. The case will be heard in front of a judge of the Suffolk County court, with a representative of the Suffolk County District Attorney’s office present.
2. The Process
The officer who suspects you are driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol will ask a few questions, such as how much you’ve been drinking. You will then be asked to step out of the car for a field sobriety test, but remember, you may politely decline to take these tests. It is within your rights to do so. The officer, however, reserves the right to arrest you on probable cause, even if you decline the field test. You will be asked to take a chemical test, if you are arrested, which you must complete. Returning home means posting a bail, either with money or signature, and a promise that you will come to your DWI Suffolk County court date.
You’ll be asked to make an appearance at an initial arraignment, where your charges will be read. You’ll be advised of your right to a DUI lawyer in Suffolk County, and you’ll be asked to plead guilty or not guilty. It’s wise to hire a lawyer before the arraignment, who will come with you to help you with your plea. If you plead guilty, punishment will be decided at that time. If you plead not guilty, a trial will be arranged. You and your lawyer will attend pre-trial dates, where evidence is presented, witnesses are proposed, or a request to dismiss the case is filed.
If you have refused the chemical test at this point, your license will be suspended, according to New York State law, until a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles is held.
The penalties in New York State for DUI and DWI’s are stiff, so a criminal defense lawyer is essential to help you get the least amount of punishment possible. Even if it is the first offense, you could get a fine from $500 to $1,000, jail for one year, 6 months of license revocation, ignition interlock devices, and more penalties. Repeat offenders incur more penalties for more than one DWI Suffolk County.
5. You Need a Lawyer
The process is emotional, and the law gets confusing, so it’s best to hire a Suffolk County DUI lawyer as soon as the arrest is made. You’ll be glad you have someone standing next to you in court, who can help you get a reduced sentence and lighter punishment.
To talk more about this, or anything else, please Contact Us. Thanks.